Driving Without a License
What is the Law In Virginia on Driving Without a License?
Virginia Code 46.2-300 says:
It is against the law for any person in Virginia to drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver’s license, passed the examination, and obtained a driver’s license, nor unless the license is valid.
What is the Punishment for Driving Without a License in Virginia?
Driving without a license in Virginia is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A class 2 misdemeanor holds a punishment of up to six months in jail, up to 90 days of license suspension, and up to a fine of $1,000.
A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor which could mean up to 12 months in jail, up to 12 months license suspension, and a fine up to $2,500 in fines.
Schedule a Consultation
Consult with one of our experienced Virginia criminal defense attorneys to discuss your best options and defenses to this charge. Contact us today for a consultation.