What is the Virginia law on Shooting from a Vehicle so as to Endanger Persons?
Va Code 18.2-286.1
on Shooting from a Vehicle says:
Any person who, while in or on a motor vehicle, intentionally discharges a firearm so as to create the risk of injury or death to another person or thereby cause another person to have a reasonable apprehension of injury or death shall be guilty of a Class 5 felony. Nothing in this section shall apply to a law-enforcement officer in the performance of his duties.
This statute prohibiting shooting from a vehicle requires the Commonwealth to prove 1) that you were in a motor vehicle, 2) you intentionally discharged a firearm and 3)by doing so you created a risk of injury or death, or caused another person to fear injury or death.
Shooting from a Moving Vehicle is a Class 5 Felony, which carries a penalty of up to 10 years incarceration and/or a $2,500 fine.
Importantly, there may be other charges related to this offense, and you may be charged with (attempted) Malicious Wounding
, or certain mob crimes
Hire a Lawyer for your Firearms Charge
Our Client Focused Criminal Defense Team
is prepared to represent you in courts throughout Northern Virginia
. Contact Us
to learn more about how we can help you.