What is Virginia Law on Receipt of a Stolen Firearm?
Va. Code 18.2-108.1
on Receipt of a Stolen Firearm says:
Notwithstanding the provisions of § 18.2-108, any person who buys or receives a firearm from another person or aids in concealing a firearm, knowing that the firearm was stolen, shall be guilty of a Class 6 felony and may be proceeded against although the principal offender is not convicted.
What does this mean?
First, this is separate from the law prohibiting the receipt of stolen property
generally. Regardless of value, this charge is a Class 6 Felony
. The possible penalties are up to 5 years in prison, and/or up to a $2,500 fine. This law does not require that the person who actually stole the gun be convicted. It does require that the Commonwealth prove you knew
the firearm was stolen. This type of evidence is easiest to obtain from statements that you make. That is why is is particularly important to hire a lawyer if you are charged with this, and not to talk to the police.
Hire a Lawyer for your Receipt of a Stolen Gun Charge
Our Virginia Criminal Defense Attorneys
are prepared to help you in courts throughout Northern Virginia. Contact us
to learn more about how we can help you.